Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

Current Status

This is week 3 of my “new” fitness attempt. I’ve been here before … it didn’t work out so well, so I’m trying again!

I quit smoking (again) on the 6th September 2009 – so far so good, a bit of craving when all my mates are drinking and smoking, but really nice to wake up without coughing, and not HAVING to smoke NOW. It does feel free 😉  (BTW – I recommend the book Allan Carr – Easy way to stop smoking).

I started with a new personal trainer who seems more motivated than my last one – so far he hasn’t cancelled a single session! The session are tough – he pushes me a lot harder. And the exercises are very different – change is good! He is at a gym called Transfit in Claremont  (be warned – its not the nicest website). The gym itself is very nice. Small compared to a Virgin Active, but with a pool, plenty of treadmills/bikes etc. They also have these machines called Huber Machines – very funky. I am going to the trainer 3 times a week for an hour each time. Very expensive – but I am willing to pay and pull finger for the next 3 months to get fit and drop weight. (No – I am NOT dedicated enough to do this myself – the last 31 years have proved that…).

I also bought a heart rate monitor – Polar F11, initially for calorie counting purposes. I am a mathematician at heart so if I consume x calories and burn y then it should all work out? Right?

However the heart rate monitor seems to have inspired me to exercise even more. Its been awesome to see my recovery time get better and better in just 3 weeks. Problem being I’m a bit dependant on my watch now – I dont want to do any exercise without it! hahaha

OK – so my idea with this blog is to update my training sessions and heart rate info, and say how that session felt etc and monitor my progress over the next few months … WISH ME LUCK!

Leave a Reply

