Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

The ‘why’ of it all

Its been just over a week since my last post. Sorry! Things have been rather hectic, and here is why : After my last post I did what I needed to do, which was resign.

No – I don’t have another job lined up.

No – I did not win the lottery.

Yes – it is scary to not have a job (more so to not have the income).

Yes – I am looking for a new job!

Many people can’t understand why I’m doing this. A surprisingly large percentage seem envious. I suppose it is a grand carefree gesture – one that would seem almost impossible to those with families etc.

So why am I making this dramatic decision? 🙂

I like working with development teams. I even like the chaos of a difficult customer, ever changing requirements and broken processes!

But the thing I love? Making all the small changes to turn the above into a roaring success. So what defines success? That the project was delivered on time? That is part of it – a rather small part though. To me success is when the each member of the team (developers, analysts, testers, managers) love what they’re doing. When they are so passionate about the team/project/company that they don’t think of it as ‘work’. When each person on the team – regardless of role or title – feels that they are special, valued and cared for. When the process of getting the project done is enjoyable, and understood by all.

I truly LOVE what I do. And in order for me to grow and become the expert I’d like to be in the above area – I need to break out of my box and experience different projects/ people/ teams.

Many people smirk at this. I’ve been told its a pipe dream that people will love their ‘work’. Nothing is perfect. I’m confused. I’m having a mid-life crisis. I just smile at them and say “Maybe”.

Aside from all that 🙂 my session with Craig are going well, but I haven’t been going to gym on Tues and Thurs for running. As a result I’m feeling a bit flat and not as fit and energetic as last month (yes – I know the stress of my life weighs in as well). Tomorrow is my monthly measurement session – I’m VERY nervous for it.

Leave a Reply

