Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

The new job :)

Its official, papers signed and faxed 🙂 I have a new employer – and I officially start on the 18th January 2010. (As I’m not 100% sure of their policy on naming them – I’m refraining from mentioning who they are.)

It happened very quickly and I am SUPER excited. It just feels right. It is hard to explain what makes something right for you… so I’ve listed all the reasons that I can think of that made me feel this was the right decision for me.

  • They interviewed me for the job. I would say 90% of the questions were related to the specific role they wanted me to perform – ScrumMaster. Not many companies have such a clear idea in their minds of what they expect of you or of what they are looking for.
  • I was interviewed by two women, one was the Project Office Manager and the other the R&D Director. It is really nice to see women in top positions in a company.
  • They didn’t waste my time or theirs. They interviewed me, discussed it and made me an offer – all in the same day. To me this means that they know what they want and thus can recognize it and act with certainty.
  • They believe in agile from the top management all the way to the bottom. For a fairly large international organization – this is very impressive.
  • They run scrum, however they are not perfect (thanks heavens as that would be boring) and have a few scrum-buts… most of all they value agile development and thought.
  • They are passionate about what they believe and do.
  • The company is product focused, which will be a new experience for me after 5 years of custom development.
  • They’re close to my house 🙂 what an AWESOME bonus!

I can now relax, no more interviews or worrying, and enjoy my holiday. Most importantly – I have an exciting new challenge to look forward too! wOOt!

5 responses to “The new job :)

  1. Rian December 15, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Very pleased for you Sam. Sounds great 😉

  2. Richard December 15, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Sweeeeeeeeeet well done!!

  3. Francois December 15, 2009 at 11:21 am

    FANTASTIC!
    I’m very glad for you.
    Enjoy your break.
    Blessings

  4. Big Arg December 15, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Excellent!
    You deserve this, and don’t forget us 🙂

  5. Antoinette December 15, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Good for you, Sam!!!

    A.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

