Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

First day jitters

Today was my first day at the new job. After a night of tossing and turning and nightmares (yes people, I behaved like a nervous 5 year old before going to “big” school!), it turned out to be great. 🙂

I’ve changed jobs many times (I think this is my 8th(?) job, but it has been  5 looong years since my last change (that’s my excuse for the nerves, and I’m sticking with it). Those of you who have changed jobs know that sometimes you arrive and they don’t even know who you are, other times they are expecting you, but you don’t yet have a desk, pc or anything to call your own really, and every now and then they have everything in place. Lucky for me my new company had everything in place 🙂 AWESOME!

I arrived, along with 4 other newbies and we went into an induction session. We had seats allocated to us with some basic stationary and a folder filled with loads of info and lots of forms. We had a presentation on the company, how their leave works, dress code, core work hours etc, and filled in LOADS of forms for medical aid, provident funds and access disks.  We then got a tour through the building highlighting important things like the bathrooms, cafeteria, smoking area, shuttle to car park, shortcut for walking to car park and of course the kitchen where the coffee is!

My desk was all setup – phone (yuck), extra screen, laptop, keyboard, mouse… perfect. The best part? I got given a “scrummaster kit”. It is fantastic 🙂 Basically a container with post-its, stickers, pins, poker planning cards etc in it. Anyone who knows me knows how much I LOVE stationary – its way past addict stage!

All in all an awesome day 1. Hopefully I will sleep like the dead tonight, and then start the real work tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

