Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

The ongoing struggle with food

I love food. I love the taste, the smell, the cheery happy feeling I get before, during and after. And I’m not all that fussy – I like almost everything (ok – not tripe, and I’m not a huge sushi fan). Since I hit the 30 mark food has become a big problem … the weight is just piling on. Hence the exercise and motivation to become fit and healthy. I don’t want to become a salad rabbit person – I want to eat what I want (and hence need to exercise ALOT). And here is the problem … I figured going from no exercise to twice a week was a lot (that was 2 years ago) – it might have been a lot but it wasn’t enough. So then I moved to exercise 3 times a week … its enough to maintain my current weight but not too lose any. From next week it will be 6 exercise sessions a week!! I don’t care what you say – that is A LOT – and it had better translate to weight being lost 🙂

I’ve also decided to swop around my main meal time and see how this affects my energy levels during the day. I will try this out until next Friday at least 🙂 My new office has a canteen, so at lunch time I will have my previously known as supper meal, and before and after I will have small snacks. I struggled with this today – it feels weird having a big meal at lunch time.

So the plan is:

  • around 530am: coffee before workout (if I have nothing I feel asleep, if I eat I feel like throwing up)
  • around 8am: snack (usually muesli with fat free yogurt)
  • around 10am: snack (fruit – cherries/apple/peach/banana?)
  • around 1230am: lunch at canteen (depends what is on the menu?)
  • around 3pm: snack (fruit – cherries/apple/peach/banana?)
  • around 730pm: snack after workout (fruit?)

I’m sure this isn’t 100% perfect and will need some adjusting depending on how tough the exercise sessions are. And of course weekends will be very different, though usually the bigger meal is a late lunch then (mmm never thought of that before).

This is my blog for me to learn from what I do and be able to retrospect back on how I did things – so I’ve made a new sub-category of fitness called diet for this type of post 🙂

One response to “The ongoing struggle with food

  1. Kenley Jones August 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Great post! Very good of you to write these feeling down and come up with a plan. I have been experimenting with my diet and adding more healthier things into it. Blueberries, nuts, etc. I like to eat every 2-3 hours, snack or something. I wish you the best in your daily battle with this. It is really tough. I started by making small changes every week. One BIG massive change can cause mayhem. Thanks for sharing. I would love to know how you are doing now with this lifestyle change. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

