Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

More thinking on reviews

In my previous post I went on about reviews and increases every 3 months (or every month for that matter). I was reading this article and realized that I hadn’t thought about my assumptions.

I had assumed your increase was solely dependant on your performance (as I believe it should be). As we all know this is a false belief, usually our increases are predetermined by company performance and politics that are way beyond our control. The usual story I hear is the company (because then there isn’t a person to blame but an entire organisation of red tape) has decided that increases will be (x)% for extraordinary performance, (x-2)% for average performance and (x-4)% for poor performance. Fantastic – so regardless of what I’ve personally done (completed multiple degrees, moved mountains, saved company millions) I will fall into a bucket with a x% increase, alongside Joe Blog who just moved 1 mole hill.

Another assumption was that I was largely working in the infamous ideal world, where everyone gets along and understands what is  happening. But that’s not true either and the two people discussing this (me and my boss) are at odds. The boss wants to discuss my performance, whereas I want to discuss (or negotiate) my increase.

So – scratch previous post and thoughts – I think there should be a 100% PURE performance talk once a month, and then, in a completely separate meeting (and I still think this should happen every 3 months), a 100% PURE compensation talk. This should correlate with my performance reviews but not BE a performance review.

Why do conversations that are somehow relating to money always get so itchy and scratchy?

Why do we give money so much power over our lives?

3 responses to “More thinking on reviews

  1. Karen February 24, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    As a manager I agree with the idea of having a discussion about performance regularly. To me it’s part of my job as a manager. Currently I try meet with all my direct reports at least once every 2 months to talk through their objectives, how they think they are doing, how I think they are doing etc. I haven’t formalised this to give them a ‘score’ but could do that if it would help.

    Perhaps separating the review from the increase cycle would make reviews better, although my previous experience with this was when there was no direct correlation between the 2, people didn’t really care about their appraisals and kinda thought they were a joke…

  2. Eve-ntually February 25, 2010 at 12:03 am

    In our society, money is the primary object that buys us more (perceived) power. As South Africans, certainly, we are focussed on money – the more we earn, the more we are taxed, And even above and beyond the “only thing that is certain is death and tax (Defoe et al)” saffers who earn a salary are winded by demand-influenced economics such as high property prices, exhorbitant and unexpected state increases such as Eskom’s electricity price hikes, and taxes over and beyond of volatile international prices such as petrol.

    It would be fantastic if company reviews were based solely on performance — but the reality is that companies face similar, if not the same (or relative) tax/other-masked-as-different restrictions in their expenditure, and that that is the reality faced by most SA companies in the current economy.

    Until the wheel turns, I’m afraid that most SA citizens will be stuck in JOBs (Just Over Broke) instead of creating wealth (and boosing the economy) by doing what they love to do.

  3. Peter February 25, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    @Karen
    I am also a manager and I’d like to think that employees would take appraisals as fundamentally less of “kinda… a joke” if appraisals were significantly more geared to the individually- (cooperatively agreed with manager) geared goals. This is relatively easy in concept, the challenge, I believe, as a manager, is to somehow allow the ability for individuals to set their goals; but to, as a manager, roll that up into comparable metrics that would allow the comparison of apples, rather than the proverbial pears.

Leave a Reply

