Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

Running program – day 18

Last night we had a strength training session. I think the aim was to show us how easy it is to do strength training using just your body and gravity, and to possibly hint that we should be doing this regularly 🙂

           strength-training-by-slagheap

We split into 4 groups and there were 4 stations, 10 minutes at each.

Station 1: a little running to warm up, some calf raises – toes pointed out, toes pointed in, some standing side reaches to work oblique’s, some pushing against partner (grappling?) for leg/arm work and stability.

Station 2: walking around an indoor track lifting knees high, then lifting heels to bum, then kicking forwards high with legs, on tip toes, a few normal running laps, some dips for triceps, calf raises on a ledge.

Station 3: sit-ups, elbow to opposite knee sit-ups, push-ups, planks

Station 4: running around indoor track then fast up 2 flights of stairs, down and repeat, walking lunges, standing squats, stretching

18423-Clipart-Illustration-Of-An-Orange-Man-Lifting-Dumbells-While-Strength-Training   22859-Clipart-Illustration-Of-A-Pink-Man-Doing-Sit-Ups-While-Strength-Training    18426   22996

All in all I found it rather easy – I think because I’ve been doing gym workouts for the last 6 months. I’m not stiff at all today. My hip/bum is still aching from Mondays run though.

Tonight is the 5km time trail at VOB. I’m a bit nervous even though we’re doing it in our splits. I think Mondays terrible run knocked my confidence with the running – so I’m a little doubting on whether or not I can make it 😦

On a awesome, positive note – my mother has been inspired by my running and started doing walks in the evenings with Julia (her house cleaner). They have done a 45min walk every   night for 3 nights so far and want to start running now! I’m very proud of both of them.

Leave a Reply

