Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

the impossible idea

How often do you say (or think) “wow – that’s a nice idea, but this is the real world – its just not possible”. And that’s it. Mind made up.

Needless to say, the nice idea doesn’t ever succeed.

Impossible-Terrace

I recently challenged my “impossible” concept and put in place a 12 week plan to achieve it – or fail miserably :). But, for 12 weeks I would be dedicated.

Wholly committed to a particular course of thought or action; devoted

The Free Dictionary

When last were you dedicated to something you thought was impossible?

A day? A week? 3 weeks?

I started thinking ‘maybe’ at week 9. Weeks 10 and 11 had me back to ‘not going to happen – ever’. Everyday was a struggle. All sorts of other things were more important, pulling me off course, justifying my belief of ‘impossible’, trying to derail my attempt. Little failures seemed so huge – like mountains. Little successes were awesome but quickly forgotten. It was a mental and physical struggle. For 12 long weeks all my energy and time was devoted to this.

At the end I had a definite test to pass or fail. Black or white – no grey, no almost, no excuses.This was the big lesson for me :). I passed my test whilst still doubting that I could. I now know how much I can accomplish if I really want to.

thats-impossibleNext time someone asks you to try something or suggests something and you think “sounds awesome … but it wont work”, remember this post. Make a plan and dedicate yourself for x weeks. Remember to have a definite pass/fail test!

Leave a Reply

