Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

The new job

My job search is over – and luckily for me I found my new company fairly quickly πŸ™‚ That is one of my excuses for not writing a blog post in a while!

There are a few things I need to get used to:

Its in Stellenbosch, very beautiful (see pictures below) and also VERY far — 108km round trip every day

And that extra travel time also impacts my gym/life schedule etc.

 Stellenbosch 1   

Some temporary issues:

The coffee machine died – so 4 days without it, then it was back for a few hours before it died again … hopefully it will return soon.

The building work means sitting at temporary desks working on hired machines and moving every few days (with your PC and desk and chair!). Its very dusty and dirty and noisy – note the network cables dangling from ceiling in the picture below. Its all on target to be completed by the end of August, and then it should be beautiful!

IMAG0121

 

Now for the cool things about my new job πŸ™‚

I am a scrum master – yay!!!

At a company that has decided to go 100% scrum. Two of the directors went on PO training. Awesome to have commitment and buy in from top management.

My interview was a 4 hour conversation. I love this – and its how I interview πŸ™‚ I believe that having a conversation with someone lets you get a much better understanding of who and what they are.

Unlimited internet access πŸ™‚

I can tweet freely. In fact the company has a twitter account and often retweet my work related tweets.

Water coolers and cans of cool drink/juice freely available. Coffee, tea and milk (all types and fresh) available. 

The company is dedicated – currently the entire development office is being restructured inside so that each of the teams can have their own scrum room – lots of wall space to stick stuff up… plenty of light, huge whiteboards, big screen for code reviews etc.

We are next door (2min walk) from a shopping centre with a Woolworths and Pick n Pay and some great coffee shops – this means I get to do all my shopping, lunch etc fairly easily and quickly.

I was asked if I wanted a laptop or desktop – I replied I don’t mind as long as I have a nice big screen with it. To my surprise, with my temporary setup my boss gave me his screen to use – a 24” (1920*1080) Samsung monitor – nice!

 

All in all – its been an awesome and crazy 2 weeks!

2 responses to “The new job

  1. Karen Greaves August 13, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Okay but you didn’t get an uber cool scrummaster kit now did you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

