Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

Hot Yoga

not-that-good-at-yoga

Today I did something I never really thought I’d do. A friend encouraged me to go to a yoga class with her. I have never attended a yoga class before, so it was all very ‘different’ to me. We went to yogazone in town and did the Vinyasa class for an hour.

Vinyasa Yoga (Power Yoga) – contemporary yoga for the modern lifestyle. A 60 minute class integrating asanas, movement and breath in dynamic yoga flows. Energising, toning, de-stressing and accompanied by great music. Power Yoga is our most popular style.

Firstly, it was in a heated room (apparently 40C) which was really nice in the beginning but had me sweating after 3 minutes! Everyone brings big towels to put over their mats and a LARGE bottle of water.

yoga-class

It was a lot tougher than I had anticipated. A good percentage of the moves I couldn’t do at all. About every 10 minutes I had to just sit and drink water – I attribute that to not being used to the heat 🙂

yoga1For some unknown reason I expected yoga to have this all over calming transcendence – it didn’t for me and I was a little disappointed 😉

It was an excellent all body workout – but I think I was trying too hard to not look like an idiot to appreciate the movements and exercises for what they were. I am hoping to go again next weekend – this time with more focus on the fluid movements!

Leave a Reply

