Inevitably Agile

somethings are just inevitable …

The freedom to fail

Ever since I started thinking about failing fast (which led to me allowing myself to fail)  it’s like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I feel free and light 🙂 In one word – AWESOME!

I don’t always succeed in failing fast. But that in itself is a failure. It means I took a step, in a direction. Perhaps I need a smaller step, perhaps I need a new direction?

The one thing I know for sure is that I didn’t do nothing. I didn’t just wait for something to happen. For it to be the right time. For everything to be perfect.

What about you? What are you waiting for? Why?


I leapt, scraped my knees, bruised my body, bruised my ego, felt the adrenaline and changed 🙂

I find myself open to new ideas, new insights, new experiences. I have done all sorts of things in the last few months that previously would have seemed silly or ridiculous or too risky to try.

This doesn’t mean I don’t plan or organize. Instead I plan and organize more than ever. Constantly adjusting and adopting my plan to incorporate lessons learnt.

Am I being too vague?

Here is a story …

For the last 6 months of 2010 I was trying to do strength training and running every week to pick up my fitness. I planned gym sessions etc. But they just never seemed to stick after the first week. I would feel so guilty when I missed a session that I would try and catch it up the next day and then end up tired and exhausted. I would punish myself. If I skipped a gym leg strength session (which I don’t like) then I couldn’t do the trail run session (which I love) until I did the leg strength session. (Kind of like you can’t have dessert until you’ve eaten all your broccoli and brussel sprouts). I so feared failing my perfect gym exercise plan that I punished myself.

This didn’t work.

In December I decided that I needed to put my fail fast and often theory into play. So I registered for bootcamp 3 times a week for 4 weeks. I also registered for a trail series – 5 races over 3 weeks in Jan. And I had my usual Trail group on Saturdays. Thats some serious exercise – 6 times a week.

Why is this different to what I had planned before? Because I knew I wouldn’t make all the sessions – I planned to fail at this. I wanted to fail and then inspect and adapt to make an exercise schedule that suits me.

And fail I did! I made it to 2 bootcamp sessions a week, 4 (out of 5) races and all the Trail group sessions. I didn’t beat myself up about not making sessions – if I didn’t feel like it – I didn’t go. If I was tired, then the couch and tv won.Every week I inspected and adapted. I took into account when the previous week I had felt strong, tired etc and shuffled the upcoming weeks activities to try something new.

What did I learn? That the sessions I enjoy the most are the Trail groups on Saturday – so I wont miss them. Training in the morning is almost always going to happen – but in the afternoon I get tired and lazy. Two strength sessions a week are all I’m interested in. If I do my exercise with a group of friends – I will make a plan to be there.

The best part of all – is I feel like I’ve accomplished so much! I don’t feel like I’ve failed to reach my exercise/gym ambitions. There is no guilt. Instead I feel awesome, fit and relaxed. My schedule accommodates me – and my moods 😉

What do you want to accomplish? How can you fail faster?

One response to “The freedom to fail

  1. jerome March 7, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Great you are learning not to be governed by fear. keep it up Samantha.

Leave a Reply

